Vredesduif met olijftak in snavel.

Open brief tegen kernapens

24-10-2022 16 winnaars van de Nobelprijs voor de Vrede schreven een open brief waarin zij oproepen tot een onmiddellijk staakt het vuren in Oekraďne. Verder roepen zij Rusland en de NAVO op om uitdrukkelijk te verklaren dat zij geen kernwapens zullen gebruiken. Reeds meer dan een miljoen mensen hebben deze open brief mede ondertekend. U kunt dat ook doen.


Hier kunt u ondertekenen


Tekst van de open brief:


We reject war and nuclear weapons. We call on all our fellow citizens of the world to join us in protecting our planet, home for all of us, from those who threaten to destroy it.


The invasion of Ukraine has created a humanitarian disaster for its people. The entire world is facing the greatest threat in history: a large-scale nuclear war, capable of destroying our civilization and causing vast ecological damage across the Earth.


We call for an immediate ceasefire and the withdrawal of all Russian military forces from Ukraine, and for all possible efforts at dialogue to prevent this ultimate disaster.


We call on Russia and NATO to explicitly renounce any use of nuclear weapons in this conflict, and we call on all countries to support the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons to ensure that we never again face a similar moment of nuclear danger.


The time to ban and eliminate nuclear weapons is now. It is the only way to guarantee that the inhabitants of the planet will be safe from this existential threat.


It is either the end of nuclear weapons, or the end of us.


We reject governance through imposition and threats, and we advocate for dialogue, coexistence and justice.


A world without nuclear weapons is necessary and possible, and together we will build it. It is urgent that we give peace a chance.

Signatories list of Nobel Peace Prize Laureates:

His Holiness The Dalai Lama (1989)
International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War (1985)
International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (2017)
Juan Manuel Santos (2016)
Kailash Satyarthi (2014)
Leymah Gbowee (2011)
Tawakkul Karman (2011)
Muhammad Yunus (2006)
David Trimble (1998)
Jody Williams (1997)
Jose Ramos-Horta (1996)
Pugwash Conference on Science and World Affairs (1995)
Óscar Arias Sánchez (1987)
Lech Walesa (1983)
American Friends Service Committee (1947)
International Peace Bureau (1910)